jump to navigation

Time Is On My Mind August 21, 2009

Posted by gsbusinessresources in GS Business Resources, time management.
Tags: ,
trackback

Time seems to be a recurring theme in my life lately. After my post on Monday, the theme of time kept coming up this week. For instance:

I was speaking to a potential client yesterday. While he wants to begin sending an electronic newsletter to his clients, and is interested in talking about ways he can use social media he said, “I just don’t have time right now to work on this. Maybe in a week or two.”

Schedules change, and he may be right that in a week or so the will have time to deal with this. But I also think that by spending time now,  he will save himself a lot more time in the future . I reassured him that I saw my role as getting this set up and running with as little time from him as possible, then taking over as much as I could to keep the projects running smoothly without a huge time commitment from him..

The concept of time cropped up again in the Toilet Paper Entrepreneur blog. In a post about why now is the right time to begin your own business, 81 people gave their reason for this. (Including one by yours truly – I’m #72!) Read through them and you’ll see a central theme emerge – taking control of one’s life/work, and ultimately, taking control of how one’s time is spent. Unless a way is discovered to travel through time, we only get to go through this life once: make sure you spend your time in ways that matter to you.

And how is my time management system going after four days? In spite of quite a few bumps in the road, it is going well. The worksheet is helping keep me on track, and I am actually focusing on what has to be done each day, and getting it done. I am discovering, however, that I need a lot of adaptability to my schedule. I may plan to work for a two hour period, and I may know what I’m want to work on, but “stuff” keeps coming up that delays it. However, because I am so focused on what must be done that day, I can shift things around and accommodate it all. I know there will be more adapting and tweaking involved, but so far I am very pleased.

And now, I believe it is time for me to close! If you have any thoughts on time – how to manage it, how quickly it is passing, even how to keep track of it for billing, please leave a comment.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

