jump to navigation

No Cost Networking March 11, 2009

Posted by gsbusinessresources in Biz Resources, GS Business Resources.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I found this post and thought it had some great ideas. Although geared towards those looking for another job, the suggestions listed also apply to those starting a new business, those looking to grow an existing business, and those needing to replace clients who have left. And as the article shows, you don’t have to spend money to effectively network.

The key point is to begin networking NOW, whether you think you need to or not. If you aren’t opening the doors to your business for several months, begin putting together a list of names to contact closer to the opening date. If your client list is full, you never know when one of your big accounts cancels and leaves a big hole in your income, so don’t neglect keeping your name out there. Networking consistently, in a variety of ways, helps ensure that when you need to find new clients, you have resources at  hand.

I’ve already implemented these suggestions. I have gone through every phone list I have to make a note of people to contact. What I have found is that some of the people on my list know a LOT of other people. By contacting a person I know, I have the potential to get word of my virtual assistance business out to many others.

I’m going to contact a local theatre company to volnteer my virtual assistant skills. I’ve already volunteered there as a costume assistant for several productions so they are familiar with me and my work ethic.

I am also online. In addition to this blog, you can find me on Twitter and Facebook. Yes, I need to do more with them, but I have made a start.

So -what no-cost method are you using to market your business?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

